There was an error in this gadget

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

BOOK REVIEW- HER WICKED PROPOSAL by Lauren Smith

Her Wicked Proposal (The League of Rogues Book 3) by [Smith, Lauren]
Fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Series and Johanna Lindsey’s Malory Series will love the passionate romances and gripping adventures of the League of Rogues.

He doesn’t need his eyes to uncover her true beauty.

Cedric, Viscount Sheridan, is cursed. Once the ton’s golden boy, the loss of his sight has left him a reclusive shell of man. His days of womanizing, horse racing and pistol shooting lost forever.

Offered the chance to recapture a small part of his old life, he can’t refuse—even if it means accepting the shocking proposal of the infamous ice maiden, Anne Chessley.

Still reeling from her father’s death, Anne’s deepest wish is to avoid the hordes of fortune hunters who will soon be beating down her door. Proposing marriage to Cedric is an act of desperation, his unexpected acceptance a strange and wonderful dream.

His only stipulation: she must respond passionately and wantonly in his bed. Her agreement barely crosses her lips before he begins a sensual assault on the icy walls bitter secrets have built around her heart.

Yet even as they catch a glimpse of true happiness, betrayal is poised to sweep them away on opposing tides of danger.

Warning: Contains an outwardly aloof heroine with a secretly tender heart, a once-notorious rake who isn’t quite as rusty at seduction as he feared, and a band of rogues who join together to make sure happily-ever-afters do come true.  AMAZON




This book had good main characters; charming and challenged all in their own ways.  I thought the portrayal of Cedric's life as a blind man was easy to relate to and believable.  You could almost feel the agony at the loss of his eyesight.  Also the grief of his other losses as well.  He had moments of joy as well so it wasn't all a downer.  Anne is also totally relate-able with her joys and her losses too.  I thought the author did a good job of showing the emotions and thoughts of each person in their own sharing of the story (P.O.V.'s) 
Other friends including members of the League of Rogues show up and play a good part in this book.  Enemies of the League show up and come against Cedric in particular.  And he;s made a few personally.  But at times he is his own worst enemy and that shows up in his dealings with Anne.  Of course Anne, managed to mess things up a bit on her own too.

There will be a Happy Ending for Cedric and Anne of sorts.  Why do I say that?  Because there is still one evil, powerful, cunning enemy of the League still out there.  I don't consider it a cliff-hanger exactly because you could stop at this story if you want to and be satisfied (I think)
The reason I gave it a slightly lower rating is because several times it slowed down so much that I wasn't sure I was going to be able to finish it.  The only thing that kept me going was that I wanted some answers to some questions.  I did want to see how it all was going to work out.. 









No comments:

Post a Comment